Pablo Pereyra
2 min readAug 10, 2019

--

I agree. Sometimes I wonder if are we doing enough. However, I suspect that may be easier to change the narrative of hate than to change the gun control. The problem, I feel is that behind the narrative of hate and separation lingers a deep insecurity of the men and women supporting it (I include women, but in this mess we are living I suspect the biggest loser has been the White American Male who has been told for a couple of centuries that he is the best thing after sliced bread). I say the biggest loser because White Men had been told that they can have anything they want. From territories to women, to services, and that because it is their God-given right (literally, that’s what I suspect people are being told at church), no one should even challenge their status.

Problem is that then people like you or me show up who just want to do a particular job, and they we put the hours to study, and then all by the sudden they throw a tantrum because either A) you show up at their office just because you have credentials, or B) they blame you for taking their jobs when they did not even acquired the credentials, C) they fail to see that their fellow people who were supposed to stand by them because they share their race, are taking their jobs wherever is cheaper.

In short, I feel that we all should get down of this narrative in which race and hierarchy are so important. I’m all for diversity and celebrating individual differences. If we would all be the same, it would not be exciting to go to a foreign country and experience their traditions.

But especially in the United States, we have gone way overboard with our fears and prejudices.

Sorry for the long rant, Vaishali.

Thank you for listening and being there.

I appreciate you,

Pablo

--

--

Pablo Pereyra

Finding inspiration in movement. Searching for identity.